A letter to subscribers introducing Content Reccruitment Marketing, a digital marketing and SEO agency in West Yorkshire

When you set up a business from scratch, you get really busy!

An open letter to my readers:

Dear reader,

A letter to subscribers introducing Content Reccruitment Marketing, a digital marketing and SEO agency in West Yorkshire
For more information on my business Content Recruitment Marketing, click on this image.

Thank you for continuing to subscribe, visit and/ or read my blog.

I’m not sure if you know, but in December 2015, I resigned from my paid position at a Law firm and decided to go it alone in the world of digital marketing.

This was a big decision but came about after realising that I was in a position that I was no longer happy doing. There were a few other reasons which helped me to make this difficult decision, but as they involve ex-Managers and the like, this is not a place to go into any more detail.

The last 4 months have been a whirlwind and I can’t believe we’re heading into the 5th month since I became self-employed!

I’m not going to lie. It has been (and still is) very hard work and quite a shock. You live on a rollercoaster of emotions from one day to the next.

Questions suddenly come to you which you never really think about when you’re working for someone else:

  • What happens if I don’t get any customers?
  • Where are the customers?
  • Why does no-one want what I’m trying to offer them?
  • Why does everyone want everything (and I mean everything!) for free?

These are just a few of the questions that I’ve asked myself whilst writing this far into the post……

Setting up your own business from the very beginning is not for the faint-hearted and I’m learning this the hard way. It’s great knowing that you don’t need to spend hours commuting to get to the office where your boss is breathing down your neck all day, but although there are certain benefits of working for yourself, there are a lot of obstacles too.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t go into this with my eyes shut. I have some very good friends and family who have also set up their own businesses this way and they’ve made a great success of theirs. Even with their advice, though, you have days where you wonder whether it’s ever going to pay off.

This is the sort of day that I’m having today and I wanted to reach out to you for 2 reasons.

First of all, I wanted to apologise (again) for the gap in my blogging activity, which I’m sure you didn’t sign up to follow my blog for. I’ve been distracted with other things, but will be back on form from now, I promise.

I’ll be sharing my usual mix of digital marketing, social media, career and advice as per the norm, but will also be including some personal stuff.

The second reason is that I think it’s about time that I shared a lot more about what I’m thinking and experiencing and giving you some insight into me as a person.

My Myers-Briggs personality type is an ENTJ – we’re the “Commanders” and natural born leaders (allegedly). We make up about 3% of the population. Steve Jobs, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Margaret Thatcher are all real life examples of ENTJ type personalities.

There is a downside to being an ENTJ. We’re the most “introverted extroverts”, so for all of our exuding confidence and powerhouse exterior, it means that we can have difficulties in showing what we’re feeling if it doesn’t fit that image!

I’ve been wrestling with this for some time, but have now decided that to make me whole, I need to start sharing my thoughts, especially when I’m feeling vulnerable. This is where I am today and what I will be sharing amongst the other topics going forward.

I’m sorry that I’ve been away for so long, but hope that you’ll stick with me to learn more about me and my adventures in building this darn business!!

Thanks for reading and I really look forward to seeing your comments and question below.

Tony
Now the Founder at Content Recruitment Marketing

Leave a Reply

