How to save your CV on your smartphone / phone /tablet

*Updated

Have you ever seen the perfect job opportunity on your smartphone and wanted to apply for it there and then, but then realised that your CV was on your laptop at home?
It’s a nightmare situation that we’ve all been in at some point!!!

Many companies still haven’t optimised their websites for mobile users, but fear not, there is a way that you can save your CV (or any other important files) onto your phone, for easy access when you need them most.

Iphone
Create and save your CV as a .pdf file. This is easily done on any word processing software, such as Microsoft Word. When you save the file, just change the “save as type” to “PDF (*.pdf)”.
That’s the first bit done – nice and easy 🙂
All you have to do now is get it onto your phone, which is completed in 3 steps:

  1. Open iTunes
  2. Open the folder where your CV (.pdf) file is located
  3. “Drag and drop the file” into the “Books” option in your iTunes library. (highlighted below)

When the file is copied into your books, right click and then click on “Get info”.
Change the name to something appropriate and change the “author” to your own name.

That’s it, you’ve done the hard work!

Sync your iphone (remembering to also make sure that it is syncing your “books”) and your CV will now be acccesible for whenever you might need it.

You can attach it to applications, send it on email, or even print it straight from your phone (with the correct lead of course!) You’ll also have a handy copy, just in case your next interviewer
forgets their copy!!!

Blackberry and Android devices
Send your CV to your own email address and then save it straight onto your phone! Easy!!!
(There may be occasion where memory doesn’t permit this – if this is the case, get a new memory card, or delete something…)

It’s all fairly straightforward when you know how and hopefully this will have saved you having to pay through the nose for an app, which will just do the same job!!

You can also connect with me on Google+
This is the ORIGINAL post, not the one that is breaking copyright on another site. Please leave a comment and link to this post to help me move them down the rankings!

28 thoughts on “How to save your CV on your smartphone / phone /tablet

    1. Hi Joseph. Do you have a text writer app on your phone? Something like Word, or Kingsoft? You can create a document on your phone that way. If not, there are a lot of cloud based apps that you could create a CV on and then download it to your phone.

  1. I am using a blackberry curve 8520, what i need you to help me with is! I want to link my cv on my phone, so that i can be able to apply to companies via my phone thanks…

  2. hi I have a Samsung galaxy s4 mini and I need to send my cv from my phone to people as I have no laptop or any device Wat so ever to send it … pls help

    1. Hi! You’ll need an app to create your document first. Something like word, or similar. You can then crate the cv on your Samsung and save it as a pdf file in your documents folder. You can share it straight from there whenever you need it.

  3. I want to create cv on my samsung galaxy j1 but I dont knw y please help bcoz when I apply via internet it needs cv on my phone

    1. Hi Louisa,

      If you don’t know why you want to save your CV on your phone then I’m not sure I can help. If you meant how, then follow the instructions in the post for Andriod phones.

      Thanks
      Tony

  4. Hi there already i have cv in my phone saved in android but when I want to apply I don’t know I can do I tried it several times,my phone is Samsung galaxy smart 2 this urgent pls help

  5. Hai there how can i create and save curriculum vitae in my blackberry torch please help me i wanna use it to send cvs and fax, taxi fees and copies is very high now we just need to save the less we have

Leave a Reply

